The church, dedicated to St Mary The Virgin, is situated in the centre of the village. It is mostly 13th century, built of local ironstone in the gothic style, consisting of chancel, clerestoried nave, south porch and a western tower with pinnacles containing five bells and a clock. The bells are not currently in use; the clock, which is maintained by The Parish Council, is under repair. The font is 14th century and is of plain stone. Restoration work was started in 1852 and in 1874 a vestry was added. Further restoration was undertaken in 1929 with the help of a significant donation from Mr Agnew, the then chairman of the Directors of Punch Magazine. The beautiful stained-glass windows are all dedicated to members of the Agnew family with the exception of one which was given by Miss Edith Grant of Litchborough in memory of her father and brother. Christine's Window on the south wall of the chancel shows the figure of Flora from a design by Edward Burne-Jones, believed to be the only one of its kind in a church window.
The Chamber Pipe Organ was built by William Allen (Guiliemus Allen) of Soho Street, London, in the 19th century, one of only 4 or 5 in the world. It has a unique Nagshead Swell-Hautboy (Oboe Houtbois) and is housed in a period Gothic case. The church seats approximately 100 and over the course of the last few years a collection of kneelers have been worked or donated by villagers.
The churchyard was closed in 1929 but in 2000 a Garden of Rest was set aside for cremated remains. There is a separate cemetery a short distance away. The maintenance of the churchyard and cemetery is the responsibility of The Parish Council; volunteers from the village are generous with their time and expertise in keeping the areas tidy.
Representative: Linda Mayne - firstname.lastname@example.org